Rod Cawson Prize Lecture


The Rod Cawson Prize Lecture was established in 2006 in memory of Professor Rod Cawson to encourage excellence in the science and practice of oral pathology. Any person involved in oral pathology was eligible to apply including researchers, clinicians or scientists whose studies or whose clinical practice involves the diagnosis and management of oral and maxillofacial diseases.

The award was funded by a bequest left by Professor Cawson to the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. The Prize was awarded as a joint award.

Rod Cawson was a leading figure in our specialty to a whole generation of Oral Physicians and Oral Pathologists.  He graduated BDS in 1943 and later also qualified with MBBS, MD and the FRCPath. From 1966 he was Head of the Department of Oral Medicine and Pathology at Guy’s Dental School (now Kings College London) and held the Chair in Oral Medicine and Pathology until he retired in 1986.  However after retirement he continued to work, contributing to the UK Salivary Gland Tumour Panel and writing numerous books with colleagues. His superb textbook “Essentials of Dental Surgery and Pathology” has been a classic to generations of dental students and trainees since 1962, and is still in a current edition written and edited by Professor Eddy Odell.  It is fitting therefore that Eddy Odell presented the first Rod Cawson Prize Lecture at the IAOP meeting in Brisbane in 2006.

The Cawson prize was subsequently awarded to the following IAOP members at biennial meetings:

2006, Brisbane, Australia: Eddy Odell (UK)
2008, San Francisco: Gareth Thomas (UK
2010, Seoul, South Korea: Tuula Salo (Finland)
2012, São Pedro, Brazil, Nisha D’Silva (USA)

The Rod Cawson prize will be replaced by the IAOP President's Lecture commencing at the 17th IAOP meeting in Istanbul, Turkey and the prize money of £1000 made available by IAOP Treasury.

Paul Speight
Past President: IAOP